Pages Navigation Menu

your migration inspiration



Photo: Felix Broede

The majestic glory of the Alps and the virtuosity of Veronika Eberle


Friday 9 March 7.30pm

Saturday 10 March 7.30pm

Asher Fisch conductor

Veronika Eberle violin

The West Australian Symphony Orchestra’s Masters Series for 2018 kicks off in spectacular fashion when Principal Conductor Asher Fisch leads WASO through two of the most iconic works by German Composers in the classical repertoire: An Alpine Symphony by Richard Strauss and the only violin concerto written by Beethoven.

Although the Violin Concerto was rarely performed during Beethoven’s lifetime – possibly due to the high level of virtuosity the master composer demanded of the violinist – it is now acclaimed as one of the great, if not the greatest, of all violin concertos.  The composer’s countrywoman, Veronika Eberle, will make her WASO debut to tackle this uncompromising work.

Indeed, she is admirably qualified for the task.  It was a performance of the concerto with the Berliner Philharmoniker under the baton of Sir Simon Rattle at the 2006 Salzburg Easter Festival which launched her international career.

Veronika plays the famous Dragonetti Stradivarius (1700) which is on loan from the Nippon Music Foundation.

The Masters Series 1 concert concludes with one of the most grandiose and extravagant of all orchestral works, Strauss’ An Alpine Symphony.  This enthralling musical travelogue charts an excursion to the peaks of the Bavarian Alps, through dark forests, ferocious storms and a stunning waterfall.

It is widely considered that An Alpine Symphony documents Strauss’ own experiences during an expedition to the summit of the Heimgarten, a mountain in the Bavarian Prealps when he was still only a teenager; and this masterful evocation captures all the beauty and adversity of his journey.

This concert promises to be a highlight of the 2018 Season and should not be missed.

Tickets from $33 on sale now at WASO on 9326 0000 or

(For those under 30, tickets from $20) 

Did you like this? Share it: